The Pig- Mr. Versatility

I’m just going to come out and throw this statement at you: The pig is the most versatile animal in the meat industry today.

Instead of advertising pork as “The Other White Meat,” let the world know that the pig can be cooked in a bevy of ways. Before we rip into the un-Kosher meat, let’s look back at my history with the pig.

Growing up in a Jewish household, pork was not something promoted within the house. Sure, I had the occasional strip of bacon at a Big Boy breakfast buffet or a pepperoni pizza (a double violation of the rules), but it was rare. The first time and most familiar I had become with a pig was Wilbur from Charlotte’s Web. He was lovable, no doubt, and I understood why my people wouldn’t want to eat such fun creatures.

As I grew older, so did my fascination with food. By this point, the scenes of Wilbur no longer endeared me. Not even Babe could deter me from ripping through bacon and ribs on a regular basis. Then, in 2009, my admiration for the animal reached its peak.

As I walked through Madrid, the Museo del Jamon stared me down. I knew at that moment, I would have to make a new friend. We flirted at first. I’d walk by it on my way to a real museum and tell myself, you’ll go inside soon. I’d go as far as walking in, looking around, and walking out.  It was still early in my travels and I knew minimal Spanish to begin with. I took chances at other restaurants first, engulfing jamon iberico sandwiches at random locations. I finally knew I wanted to make sure I took advantage of this Museum of Ham. Finally, with a day to spare, I entered determined to eat. I remember pointing at the sign and accepting whatever they gave me. I knew at that moment, the pig could never disappoint.

Since then, I’ve eaten all sorts of pig from Morcillo (blood sausage) to pig ear and whole pork knuckles (cartilage included). The pig can be used and eaten in a variety of delicious ways.

And now, after getting my self-obsessive pig story out of the way I will take you threw the pig breeding process.

Pigs are typically noted as dirty animals and a tad bit destructive. This means, especially early, you have to monitor them closely. Keeping them in a clean environment is important. Don’t believe the media scandal that tells you pigs love their own filth. If you help keep their area clean, the pigs will do their part as well. For those offended by their mud baths, the truth is, they need those to keep cool and clean, plus they invented the mud bath well before spas began charging hundreds of dollars for them. Check and mate.

This site about pig breeding helps introduce the basics of early life. Important to note, if the mother pig isn’t in some sort of crate/contraption, the breeder runs the risk of having the piglets crushed during the first few month. With usually 14 teats to extract milk from, the piglets are well serviced. From there, they begin to live the normal life of feeding. Here are five additional tips of the type of environment they should have ready to go.

From there the cycle continues. This pig production chart from ukagriculture.com helps show the process and time it takes to get to the slaughter point. 

As you see at the end, the slaughter is the final destination. If you want to see the actual process check out this photo and caption timeline of the final chapter in a pig’s life. I do warn it’s a bit graphic and even depressing if you’ve ever been attached to pigs like Babe, Little Cory (of Boy Meets World fame), or Wilbur.

But the good news are the final products. Led by bacon and accompanied with ribs, ham, pork chops, and everything else, the pig offers up many delightful tastings. How about some Dr. pepper ribs or bacon wrapped smokies. And check out a wide range of recipes from thepigsite.com.

And to cap it off, here’s a video from a friend (from My Backyards Chicken fame) highlighting the greatness of one product, bacon.

About Benjie Klein
Born on a cold day in 1984 my eyes opened for the first time gazing hazily and it was clear, I knew nothing. Over time, however, that has changed. Hi, I'm Benjie Klein, currently enrolled as a graduate student at the University of Wisconsin in the Mass Communications and Journalism MA program. After receiving a bachelors degree at Michigan State University I worked for the Detroit Tigers and Lions before taking a year off to travel (adventures can be learned about at http://benjieofftheleash.blogspot.com/). Now I embark on a journey to tell you not of myself, but the world of technology and the way it continues to shape the world we live in. In addition, every once in a while I'll throw in some sports related commentary or just general ideas on life in a journalistic manner, of course.

Leave a Reply

